Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modernising 1969 ST70 DAX Project start

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to this forum, and a returning Dax enthusiast, having learned to wheelie on a bog stock standard version of this beauty when I was 16. Unfortunately, mum gave my little gem away when I went off to Uni - yes I am a lot older now - but not much wiser I am told..

Having played around with cars for a number of years and recently rebuilt a tired old two cylinder bike into a streetfighter, I was looking for a new challenge.

Long story short, I recently bought a tired 1969 ST from Drew (also on this forum I believe) in Newcastle.

$_75.JPG

I have big plans for this little bike and if I may be so bold, I need your help to progress this build.

In my research since buying the bike I noticed that 99% of all ST's I have viewed, seem to have strayed away from their original trail riding roots and have gone more towards a street riding bias. That is cool. But for me, I want to use the original querky 'suasage dog' lines of the bike and infuse these with a little 'back to the roots' modernism.

Headlines of the changes are to create :

"a trail riding / motard orientated bike that has more power, still capable of carrying two people whilst not totally breaking the bank (important to keep the financial sign-offs coming by the ministry of finance ).

In broad strokes I can outline the modifications as follows:
    • Motard Wheels
    • Disc Brakes (front & rear)
    • USD forks
    • Min. 150cc motor (There would seem to be so much choice here with big $ differences between the choices, but I am leaning towards Daytona... advice??)
    • Alu rearsets which MUST HAVE 'GP' upside down gear shift - because it just works soooo well!
    • Auxilliarry fuel tank to be mounted in place of the original airbox
    • Up & Over exhaust with short muffler (so that a passenger can still be carried)